Posted in Inspiration

Come to me

In The Confessions, Saint Augustine wrote, “You have made us for yourself, O Lord, and our heart is restless until it rests in you.” God created us to have an inherit need for him. Nothing can possibly fill that void. We were made for so much more than I think we can even comprehend. The emptiness we feel, it can be filled, happiness can always be found. It’s available at the foot of the cross.  I’ve read this passage so many times, but today it felt like I noticed something that I hadn’t realized before. It says,

“For you were formerly darkness, but now you are Light in the Lord; walk as children of Light (for the fruit of the Light consists in all goodness and righteousness and truth), trying to learn what is pleasing to the Lord.  Do not participate in the unfruitful deeds of darkness, but instead even expose them; for it is disgraceful even to speak of the things which are done by them in secret.  But all things become visible when they are exposed by the light, for everything that becomes visible is light.  For this reason it says, “Awake, sleeper, and arise from the dead, and Christ will shine on you.” (Ephesians 5:8-14)

j

(“Christ of St.  John of the Cross” by Salvador Dali)

He calls us out of our darkness, the self-centered place we call home, and into his light. He calls us to better ourselves and to be more like him. He wants us even when we are kicking and fighting the entire time.  We’re called to be a reflection of him. It’s inherent to our nature that our restless hearts will continue to be restless until we have and become more like Christ. The human condition is filled with great and terrible beauty. The reality of life and death that constantly surrounds us only reminds us of our need for God. When this desire is finally fulfilled, then “the two lovers will finally be united together: God and the soul.”

Author:

I’m usually a laid back person. I love to read. I’m a history nerd. If I could go back in time and meet just one person it would probably be Pope John Paul II. I’m married to my best friend. Fall is my favorite season. The Giant Panda is my favorite animal. I love it when you go somewhere, see something, or even eat something and it bring back memories from your past. I love the smell of rain. Oh, and by the way, I’m Leila (lie-luh).

One thought on “Come to me

Leave a Reply

