Posted in Inspiration

How far would you go?

I have often contemplated over John 15:13; the verse says,”Greater love has no one than this, that one lay down his life for his friends.” I can’t help but wonder, ‘what would I do?’ Would I lay down my life for the stranger next to me? Maximilian Kolbe is an example of the many saints that come to my mind at the moment.To lay down your life for another is a very selfless and pure act of love to make. Christ knowingly accepted and died a humiliating and painful death for us. He loved us so much and he did this before any of us knew him. Not only that, but he did this just for the chance that one day we will want to know him. Christ, speaking to St. Catherine of Alexandria, said that, “I would create the universe again, just to hear you say that you love me.” He did it for you, for me, the neighbor down the street, and even for strangers we will never know. It’s a love far beyond human comprehension.

Author:

I’m usually a laid back person. I love to read. I’m a history nerd. If I could go back in time and meet just one person it would probably be Pope John Paul II. I’m married to my best friend. Fall is my favorite season. The Giant Panda is my favorite animal. I love it when you go somewhere, see something, or even eat something and it bring back memories from your past. I love the smell of rain. Oh, and by the way, I’m Leila (lie-luh).

Leave a comment