Posted in Inspiration

Body Image.

This is the one thing that every woman, no matter the age, struggles with. Our perception of beauty is so skewed! During my middle school years, I can remember looking at the women in magazines and just thinking that I want to look like them. I want to be beautiful. I want to be super thin, fair skinned, and tall.

we

I’ve always struggled with my personal body image.  Last week, when my big and I went to the pool to study, I realized that when I went into the bathroom to change into my bathing suit, I literally spent twenty minutes just looking at myself  in the mirror and thinking of everything that I hate about my body. I remember thinking, “I wish I was taller. I wish I was skinnier. I hate my thighs. I wish my nose was smaller.” After I snapped out of it, I thought, “What is wrong with me?” I’ve come to terms that I’m never going to look like a Victoria’s Secret model. That’s just totally unrealistic. It’s difficult for me to see myself the same way that other people see me. When people tell me that I’m pretty, I still honestly think that they’re just being nice. I feel pretty average. I’m still learning to accept myself the way that God made me. I have learned that I’m never going to be able to be happy with myself until I learn to love my imperfections. ”I am made in the image of God,” what is more beautiful than that? What is more beautiful than being made in the image of the creator of the skies, stars, and all of nature? That thought just absolutely blows my mind!

we2

Author:

I’m usually a laid back person. I love to read. I’m a history nerd. If I could go back in time and meet just one person it would probably be Pope John Paul II. I’m married to my best friend. Fall is my favorite season. The Giant Panda is my favorite animal. I love it when you go somewhere, see something, or even eat something and it bring back memories from your past. I love the smell of rain. Oh, and by the way, I’m Leila (lie-luh).

Leave a Reply

