Posted in My Wedding

The Story of us

Well, ever since my fiancé and I got engaged, people keep asking me to tell the story of how we met. I have the feeling that our story is not what most people were expecting.  It was not love at first sight. We did not hear the cherubs sing or experience any magical feelings. Instead, our relationship grew from our friendship. It all started six years ago.

14

We met during the spring semester of my junior year in high school. I had just arrived in my first class and I decided to take the seat behind my friend Greg. A few moments later, this guy came in and sat in front of him. He was tall, had green eyes, and was slightly dorky looking. After he sat down, he began chit chatting with Greg.  After a few minutes he asked Greg, “Is she always this quiet?” and I responded, ”No, I’m just really tired. Who are you, anyway?” And that is how our friendship began.

12

We didn’t really get along the first few months, but by the end of the semester we were pretty good friends. During the summer, I rediscovered a gift he had randomly given me one day. This is when it all started. I couldn’t get him out of my head. So, I did my best to reconnect with him during the fall. It’s funny, thinking back on the random things I would do to get his attention. I signed up for an AP class just to spend time with him (which he didn’t even take btw) and I also joined my schools FCA (Fellowship of Christian Athletes) for him. After about six months of chasing after him, he finally got the clue. Well, not really. It was a close mutual friend of ours who just told him how I felt.  On March 8, 2009 he finally asked me out and we’ve been together ever since!

13

I am abundantly blessed. He spoils me constantly. He’s been with me through thick and thin. He guides me in my faith. He just completes me. I love that I’m marrying my high school sweet heart. Looking back, who knew that those two awkward teenagers had found something so very special.

Author:

I’m usually a laid back person. I love to read. I’m a history nerd. If I could go back in time and meet just one person it would probably be Pope John Paul II. I’m married to my best friend. Fall is my favorite season. The Giant Panda is my favorite animal. I love it when you go somewhere, see something, or even eat something and it bring back memories from your past. I love the smell of rain. Oh, and by the way, I’m Leila (lie-luh).

Leave a Reply

