Posted in Inspiration

Lost in thought…

I’ve been thinking a lot lately. That’s nothing new, I guess.  Recently, I saw a picture of a group of people praying in a Church that was destroyed by the typhoon in the Philippines. I think it stood out to me so much because so many of those people lost everything. So many families lost their homes, husbands, wives, and children, who were torn away from each other in a matter of seconds. How can they sit in the midst of that chaos and pray? My heart aches for them, but at the same time I have such admiration for them. I, myself, am still waiting to hear from my family in Leyte.  The Visayas (central Philippines) were still recovering from the massive 7.2 earthquake that hit last month.  Their faith is inspiring. When I saw that picture, I knew that there will be so many people that when they see it they won’t admire them for their strength, but instead they’ll think “how ignorant are you? Your country was destroyed, you have nothing, and you still pray to a God who isn’t even real.”  Our world is such a godless place. People care about God up until it starts cramping their lifestyle.  When those people encounter those who do believe in God, they just write them off as being “ignorant,” “a bible thumper,” or “a Jesus freak.” Being Christian no longer has a positive connotation to it.

Showing your faith openly feels more like putting nails in a coffin. Dressing modestly, discerning vocations, and doing the sign of the cross in public, seems so alien to the rest of the world. It’s disheartening. How do you practice faith openly in a world that barely believes in God or anything other than themselves? Maybe, this could be God’s reminder to me that this isn’t my home.

Author:

I’m usually a laid back person. I love to read. I’m a history nerd. If I could go back in time and meet just one person it would probably be Pope John Paul II. I’m married to my best friend. Fall is my favorite season. The Giant Panda is my favorite animal. I love it when you go somewhere, see something, or even eat something and it bring back memories from your past. I love the smell of rain. Oh, and by the way, I’m Leila (lie-luh).

Leave a Reply

