Posted in Random

Sunset

Dusk has always been my favorite time of day. I always love seeing all of the warm colors. I think that the warm orange and red are my favorite. Today as I watch the sun go down and begin to prepare for the night I can’t help but reflect on the past few years of my life. I was going through a bunch of old photos today on my computer and so many precious memories came flooding back to me. As frustrated as I was with Oglethorpe my senior year it was an amazing time of my life. It’s funny, looking back, I’m glad I took such a big chance when choosing to attend OU. Move in day was my first day touring the school. I had fellen in love with the schools History and Core programs and I just decided to apply without even visiting the school. I have so many cherished memories there and most of which always come back to the same groups of people: Cat’lic Club and Sigma Sigma Sigma.

ss1

There was no other place I felt more at home than at Cat’lic club. The people that I met and have grown to know will always hold a very special place in my heart. There both my fiancé and I converted to the Catholic faith, I found a monastic home/retreat filled with the most wonderful people, served others, and served as president. The biggest blessing that I received my senior year was getting to witness a few of the other members convert. Holy Thursday last year was one of the few times that the liturgy had me moved to tears. Also, I enjoyed all the time I spent helping the youth minister (my lovely godmother) with the middle school youth group (my kids). That doesn’t even cover the surface of the wonderful memories I could tell.

ss3

ss2

ss4

Now, Sigma Sigma Sigma. That is where I was adopted into a wonderful family of llamas! I have so many stories I could tell about recruitment and times I spent with my big, twin, and other sisters. I also have a few funny stories I could tell about Greek week and Pie-a-Sigma Tri (now those two events were pretty unforgettable). The best part of being part of a sisterhood is knowing that they’ll always be there for me. We might be physically apart but we will always be united by our ritual and vow.

ss6

llamas

Looking back over the course of my life it becomes more and more apparent to me, I am abundantly blessed.

Author:

I’m usually a laid back person. I love to read. I’m a history nerd. If I could go back in time and meet just one person it would probably be Pope John Paul II. I’m married to my best friend. Fall is my favorite season. The Giant Panda is my favorite animal. I love it when you go somewhere, see something, or even eat something and it bring back memories from your past. I love the smell of rain. Oh, and by the way, I’m Leila (lie-luh).

Leave a Reply

