Posted in Random

Valentine’s Day

Well, I just got back from my weekend trip to Atlanta. I have to admit, leaving my fiancé and going back home alone never gets easier. It just gets harder and harder each time. Any who, I had a wonderful Valentine’s day! Upon my arrival, my fiancé had a venti carmel flan latte and a bouquet of roses prepared for me! He knows me so well, lol! Later that night we went on a date to Medieval Times. We are both history majors and it was just a perfect place for us to go. Overall we enjoyed the dinner and show, but I have to admit, it was a lot more fun picking and analyzing all the historical inaccuracies we spotted. It was wonderful!

Image

(I sent my fiancé a really lame
catholic pick-up line each day leading up to Valentine’s Day! Haha! I’m sure he loved it!)

On Saturday, my fiancé and I  and a couple friends went out and explored Downtown Decatur and other random spots around Emory. We got lost twice, but overall  it was an enjoyable outing! (Scout Mob App ftw) Saturday reminded me of how much I really miss living up in Atlanta. Image

Sunday was pretty laid back. We spent the afternoon lounging around and watching movies and in the evening we went to mass. I never liked going to mass at the university chapel. I understand that it’s a multifunctional religious center, but it just doesn’t feel like a church to me (it doesn’t have kneelers or a crucifix) and I just never liked the architecture of the building. Any who, it was my first mass with the new priest. He seems very kind and I really enjoyed his homily. I don’t know why, but for some reason his words really spoke to my heart.  During the homily he said, “It’s important to remember we walk the paths of the Earth with Jesus Christ himself.” It’s nice to be reminded that I’m never as alone as I tend to feel. I’m really happy I got to spend my weekend with such amazing people.

Author:

I’m usually a laid back person. I love to read. I’m a history nerd. If I could go back in time and meet just one person it would probably be Pope John Paul II. I’m married to my best friend. Fall is my favorite season. The Giant Panda is my favorite animal. I love it when you go somewhere, see something, or even eat something and it bring back memories from your past. I love the smell of rain. Oh, and by the way, I’m Leila (lie-luh).

Leave a Reply

