Posted in Random

Surprises, Baptisms, and Visitations

My weekend was pretty eventful. On Saturday, I went to confession, Eucharistic adoration, and mass. I cannot fully describe how much I love going to adoration. I love spending time with the keeper of my heart, you know? I feel as if I always learn something new or am reminded of something whenever I go. This time I was reminded that during those moments in life when our light for Christ begins to fade to not lose hope, never lose hope. Christ understands our sufferings and by his divine graces I’ll find a way through. God’s got this. He has brought me this far, why wouldn’t he guide me the rest of the way? After adoration I headed into the sanctuary to sit in my usual spot for mass. I was sitting in the pew and I was looking around at the little details in the stained glass windows and when I turn my head I saw Kurtis genuflecting and coming to sit next to me! My fiancé surprised me at mass! He had originally told me that he wasn’t going to be coming down to Florida with the rest of the family – he had to work on his masters thesis. You have no idea how happy I was to see him 🙂

kurtis surprise

Late that evening we all left for Port Charlotte, Florida. We left home at 10:30pm and arrived at Grandma Campbell’s house at 6:30am.That was a very long eight hour drive!  Kurtis, me, and his sisters just stayed up the rest of the morning because we had to start getting ready for church in two hours. I knew that if I went to bed, I wouldn’t be able to get back up in time for church.

Barkley

(Barkley was so sad when we left! He was like “I wants to go too!”)

The whole reason Kurtis and I went down with the family was because his youngest sister was getting baptized.  Well, that mainly, and we wanted to spend time with family before his graduation and the wedding. It has been about four years since Kuris and I have gone down to Port Charlotte.

(Kira was very excited and the whole family was very proud and happy for her!)

(Kurtis and I with Grandpa Spike! I love him! He’s hilarious!)

After the baptism we went back to the house, changed clothes, and then we went to go visit Grandma Anderson. We had a wonderful time. I always enjoy our time spent with her. We talked about the wedding, old catholic traditions, and shared family stories. I was so happy to find out that Grandma Anderson and Grandpa Anderson actually knew Archbishop Fulton Sheen! We have family pictures with him and everything! That is just too cool!

After our visit with Grandma Anderson we met up with Kurtis’ older sister and her family for dinner and ice cream. Overall, it was a wonderful and exhausting stealth trip down there. The next day we spent about twelve hours in the car before finally arriving back home!

Author:

I’m usually a laid back person. I love to read. I’m a history nerd. If I could go back in time and meet just one person it would probably be Pope John Paul II. I’m married to my best friend. Fall is my favorite season. The Giant Panda is my favorite animal. I love it when you go somewhere, see something, or even eat something and it bring back memories from your past. I love the smell of rain. Oh, and by the way, I’m Leila (lie-luh).

Leave a Reply

