Posted in Inspiration

Holy Week

Holy Thursday: The Last Supper of The Lord

“The washing of the feet and the sacrament of the Eucharist: two expressions of one and the same mystery of love entrusted to the disciples, so that, Jesus says, “as I have done… so also must you do” (Jn 13: 15).”  – Blessed John Paul II


I spent Holy Thursday at Sacred Heart before leaving for Atlanta. This is my favorite mass of the year! I just love the liturgy. I always tear up when I see the priest step down and wash the feet of the twelve parishioners. There is nothing more beautiful than seeing the Church body serve one another. It’s just the quiet humility that is shared between everyone that just grabs my heart. For me, this is the night when the true beauty of the Church shines through. Also, remembering the Institution of the Eucharist and the priesthood is pretty awesome too. 🙂

126

Good Friday: The Veneration of the Cross

“And he departed from our sight that we might return to our heart, and there find Him. For He departed, and behold, He is here.” – Saint Augustine

Kurtis and I came back down to Warner Robins after my interview. I was so happy Kurtis was able to come home! I’ve always loved going to mass and participating in solemn days with him. The veneration of the cross is always very moving for me and I know for Kurtis as well; it’s his favorite part of the Triduum.  It was wonderful being able to go up and kiss the foot of the cross together. It really reminded me of the unity that is needed for a marriage. It will take all three of us (my fiancé, me, and Christ) to make a marriage work. It’s very humbling going up to the cross and venerating it together. I want everything in our marriage to bring us closer to Him.

124

(Pieta by William-Adolphe Bouguereau)

Easter Sunday:

“O Death, where is your sting? O Hell, where is your victory? Christ is risen, and you are overthrown. Christ is risen, and the demons are fallen. Christ is risen, and the angels rejoice. Christ is risen, and life reigns. Christ is risen, and not one dead remains in the grave. For Christ, being risen from the dead, is become the first fruits of those who have fallen asleep.” – St. John Chrysostom

It’s so strange going to Sacred Heart for Easter. I mean, I really enjoyed it, but it was my first time away from OLA for Holy Week. It was nice seeing the different characteristics of each parish. I think, one of my favorite parts about big Christian holidays is running into “twice a year Catholics”. Don’t get me wrong, I love that they’re there and I wish they would attend more often, but it was just funny hearing the different and staggered responses from the crowd. During the mass, when the priest says, “The Lord be with you”, there would be three different responses: 1) “And with your spirit” (the correct response) 2) “And also with you” (The old response) 3) “And also with your spirit” (my personal favorite lol). Overall I really enjoyed it and I hope that everyone else had a reflective week as well!

125

(My wonderful helpmate!)

Author:

I’m usually a laid back person. I love to read. I’m a history nerd. If I could go back in time and meet just one person it would probably be Pope John Paul II. I’m married to my best friend. Fall is my favorite season. The Giant Panda is my favorite animal. I love it when you go somewhere, see something, or even eat something and it bring back memories from your past. I love the smell of rain. Oh, and by the way, I’m Leila (lie-luh).

Leave a Reply

