Posted in Random

I have found the one whom my soul loves

The Creation of Woman: Genesis 2:18-24 NASB

The Lord God said, “It is not good for the man to be alone. I will make a helper suitable for him.”  Now the Lord God had formed out of the ground all the wild animals and all the birds in the sky. He brought them to the man to see what he would name them; and whatever the man called each living creature, that was its name.  So the man gave names to all the livestock, the birds in the sky and all the wild animals. But for Adam no suitable helper was found. So the Lord God caused the man to fall into a deep sleep; and while he was sleeping, he took one of the man’s ribs and then closed up the place with flesh.  Then the Lord God made a woman from the rib he had taken out of the man, and he brought her to the man. The man said, “This is now bone of my bones and flesh of my flesh; she shall be called ‘woman,’ for she was taken out of man.”  That is why a man leaves his father and mother and is united to his wife, and they become one flesh.

 

I’ve always loved Adam’s reaction. It’s just so priceless. He was in so much awe of Eve and she is just indifferent. This brings my mind back to a quote by Matthew Henry. He wrote, “The woman was made of a rib out of the side of Adam; not made out of his head to rule over him, nor out of his feet to be trampled upon by him, but out of his side to be equal with him, under his arm to be protected, and near his heart to be beloved.”  Adam and Eve were made for each other, literally, and equal in the eyes of God.  God is the author of all of our love stories- no matter the vocation.

I still can’t believe that I’m getting married in forty-four days! It’s a strange mixture of stress, excitement, and nostalgia. I have had a love hate relationship with wedding planning. Seriously, it’s a pain in the butt. Well, it hasn’t all been bad. This entire process just constantly brings to mind memories from the past. Remembering our awkward teenage years and seeing where we are now. It’s amazing how wonderful life can be, yes?

I came across a quote today and it said, “Life isn’t about finding the one; it’s about becoming the one.” That is such a true statement. Looking back, both Kurtis and I had to work on our own personal relationships with Christ before we were able to enter into a relationship with each other. A relationship without Christ or any relationship without Christ is not worth pursuing.  If his presence is absent there is no substance to it. You have no foundation. The passions, the infatuation, we feel and often confuse for love eventually fades away.  We’ve all been there and we are so bombarded with the wrong interpretation of what love really is.

Sex does not equal love. A relationship based on sex alone won’t last. It always amazes me how people often have the perception that the Catholic Church hates sex. That is so not the case. The Catholic Church is its guardian. It wants its married couples to be able to achieve its complete fulfillment, the creation of new life. When a couple enters the marriage covenant they do so totally, freely, faithfully, and fruitfully. When we look at the cross we see a reflection of this.

 

Is it weird to say that I’m actually about starting our NFP (Natural Family Planning) classes soon?

Author:

I’m usually a laid back person. I love to read. I’m a history nerd. If I could go back in time and meet just one person it would probably be Pope John Paul II. I’m married to my best friend. Fall is my favorite season. The Giant Panda is my favorite animal. I love it when you go somewhere, see something, or even eat something and it bring back memories from your past. I love the smell of rain. Oh, and by the way, I’m Leila (lie-luh).

Leave a Reply

