Posted in My Wedding

Bridal shower, Graduations, and wedding planning

These past few weeks have been a total blur- an awesome hectic blur- we did a lot of traveling and attended to a plethora of last minute wedding details. What set this controlled chaos in motion was our  bridal shower. We had a wonderful time spent with our loved ones and friends. My maid-of-honor did an amazing job organizing the event! I’m so thankful for all of those who attended and for the wonderful gifts they gave to us. After the bridal shower a group of us went to a restaurant and had a few drinks. It was really nice getting that chance to catch up with everyone.  Overall, I really enjoyed my evening. It was a big reminder for me that the wedding is right around the corner! 🙂

us

Graduation Weekend:

Kurtis’ graduation weekend was pretty eventful. Kurtis’ older sister and her family drove up from Port Charlotte, Florida and a dear friend of ours from Emory also came down from Atlanta and stayed with us for the weekend. It was nice being able to spend time with everyone. On Saturday, when everyone was home, we all took Kurtis’ nephew to the park and spent a bit of time there before heading to Macon. After the park we went to St. Joseph’s to show Kurtis’ sister and her husband the Church where the wedding will take place. After that, we went to  an awesome local coffee shop near the Church and then headed over to RiverCrossing for some shopping. While at RiverCrossing we were able to make the proper arrangements for Kurtis’ groomsmen to pick up their suits for the wedding. Later that night we all stayed up late and played board games.

fishy face

On Sunday, Nick, Kurtis, and I attended our parish’s Burning of the Church Mortgage Mass. It was awesome! There were so many people there! The Bishop of Savannah and Bishop Emeritus Boland were both there and about eight other priests from the Macon deanery were also in attendance. The whole vibe of that mass was super upbeat (yay for the Church being mortgage free!). After mass, we went home, ate, and went to the park with Kurtis’ nephew. After that we just spent the rest of the time with family for mothers day.

massmb2

Monday was exhausting. We left the house at 3:00 am to be able to make it in time for Kurtis’ graduation ceremony in Atlanta.  I still cannot believe that Kurtis has graduated from Emory University with his BA/MA in History and Political Science! He just has three more years of law school and then we are good to go! I am very proud of him! His graduation brought back a lot of bittersweet memories from the past four years.  I can’t believe that the wedding is NEXT MONTH! That is crazy! I’m very excited to see what the future has in store for us!

nicksilly usthe gang

I still cannot believe that Kurtis and almost all of his friends have graduated from Emory already! Time goes by so fast!

Author:

I’m usually a laid back person. I love to read. I’m a history nerd. If I could go back in time and meet just one person it would probably be Pope John Paul II. I’m married to my best friend. Fall is my favorite season. The Giant Panda is my favorite animal. I love it when you go somewhere, see something, or even eat something and it bring back memories from your past. I love the smell of rain. Oh, and by the way, I’m Leila (lie-luh).

Leave a Reply

