Posted in My Wedding

Beautifully Reckless

I still can’t believe that I had decided to volunteer at Sacred Heart VBS just two weeks before the wedding. The children I helped with were mainly in kindergarten, but I was also the person in charge of directing the middle schoolers and older teens. It was wonderful getting to see God through the eyes of a child. The kids questions ranged everywhere from “Why can’t we see God?” to “Can I talk to my guardian angel?” I have to admit that a few memorable moments of mine would have to be seeing our seminarian teach the kids. I just really enjoyed hearing the children’s answers. Overall it was exhausting, but lot of fun! And yes, I still keep getting VBS song flashbacks.

Wedding Week

To be completely honest, I really hated planning our wedding. I just wanted to make sure the wedding ceremony went smoothly and was willing to accept whatever would happen during the reception. The week leading up to the wedding was exhausting and chaotic- well, it was controlled chaos. It felt like my mind was just everywhere!

I had four major highlights last week:

1) I loved going to adoration with Annie and my fiancé. Words cannot describe how much I absolutely needed to do that. It gave me the peace I needed to get through the wedding rehearsal and the big day.

20140625-141904-51544172.jpg

2) Staying with Annie leading up to the wedding was so much fun! I don’t think I would have been able to keep myself together if it weren’t for her! She helped so much with everything! Seriously, she helped us iron table cloths and helped me destress mainly by catching fireflies (Hussiane and the Bolts).

20140625-142950-52190380.jpg

3) This is random, but I really enjoyed having lunch at Zaxbys with Annie, Andy, and Kurtis. Kurtis and I gave Andy his gift which happened to be a box of 120 packets of Zaxbys Sauce to tie him over while he finishes his Ph. D in Chicago. His face was just precious.

20140625-142001-51601267.jpg

4) Friday was super busy. The groomsmen, well two of them, came by to help finish making the wedding trinkets (stringing those button cookies took forever). I’m very thankful that my mother-in-law baked them for us ahead of time- she cranked those cookies out like a total boss! It was just a lot of fun chatting and messing around with each other. After lunch, Annie and I left to go get our nails done and before we knew it it was time to head over to our cocktail party Aunt Bonnie had prepared for us! The wedding party left around 5:00 to head over to the Church for the wedding rehearsal. The rehearsal itself was, well, interesting.

20140625-142043-51643695.jpg

Stay tuned for my next three blogs on the wedding, the reception, and our honeymoon 🙂

Author:

I’m usually a laid back person. I love to read. I’m a history nerd. If I could go back in time and meet just one person it would probably be Pope John Paul II. I’m married to my best friend. Fall is my favorite season. The Giant Panda is my favorite animal. I love it when you go somewhere, see something, or even eat something and it bring back memories from your past. I love the smell of rain. Oh, and by the way, I’m Leila (lie-luh).

Leave a Reply

