Posted in My Wedding

Our Special Day :)

It’s funny how in that one moment when we step back and ask ourselves “what can I do to help others see Christ” everything changes. Well, that’s if you truly ask yourself that question and open your heart to God nothing will ever be the same again. For Kurtis and I, we decided that our union in marriage is how we will help others see Christ (well, to the best of our ability).

IMG_5308

As I’m lying here on the couch with my very new husband I can’t help but to smile whenever I think about our wedding day. I still think it’s unbelievably awesome how our wedding date not only fell on the feast day of Aloysius Gonzaga, but also due to the time of the wedding the feast of Corpus Christi. Any who, I’m so very thankful for all of the wonderful friends and family that came and celebrated our marriage sacrament with us. Looking back, Saturday just flew by.

On Saturday morning, Annie and I woke up fairly early-ish. The morning was filled with a strange mixture of excitement, nervousness, and joy. It felt like everything was finally clicking into place. We started getting ready around 1:00 and we arrived at the Church at 5:00 (we wanted to get there in time to do pictures). It was funny. It almost felt like we were playing tag with the groomsmen. Kurtis was never in the right place at the right time and we kept almost running into each other. Haha!

IMG_4694 IMG_4799

The ceremony began at 7:00 and I didn’t officially begin to feel nervous until Fr. Kevin popped in to check on me. Right after he left that’s when I could feel all of the butterflies in my stomach. Before I knew it, Te Deum (by Charpentier) began to play and it was time for my bridesmaids to enter the sanctuary one by one. After the song had ended it was my turn, my heart was pounding as Cannon in D (by Pachelbel) started to play. I always feel really awkward when I know people are looking at me. When it was time for me and Mr. Boswell to began walking down the aisle he had to tell me to slow down. I was just worried about tripping over my dress in front of everyone- you know, Leila problems.

IMG_5008

Words cannot express how ecstatic I am that everything went smoothly overall for the wedding mass. Everything in the ceremony intertwined beautifully. The readings we chose and the homily paired together wonderfully. It felt like everything we had learned finally hit home- all of the marriage preparation classes and overall conversations about marriage we’ve had this past year.

IMG_5071

When it came time for us to say our vows I’m still surprised that I started to cry (happy tears of course). We had been waiting for that moment for such a long time and it was finally happening, it was just overwhelming. Looking back, I can’t help but to remember a conversation Kurtis and I had back when we were seventeen. We were sitting in Mrs. Owen’s Sociology class and Greg asked Kurtis what his ideal type of woman he had in mind for his future bride. It was the exact opposite of me, and I remember thinking in return “man, she has to be out of her mind to marry that guy.” Fast forward to both of us standing on the alter exchanging our wedding vows to one another six years later. Who knew those awkward teenagers had stumbled upon something so special.

IMG_5174

After Communion we chose to partake in the Catholic tradition of giving a rose to the Blessed Mother. It really meant a lot to us to be able to ask for her intersession and blessing for our marriage and future children. For me, I prayed the Memorare and I think Kurtis prayed a few Hail Mary’s while the Ave Maria was being sung.

IMG_5361

Before we knew it, O God Beyond All Praising began to play and the mass was over! It was time for the wedding reception to begin.

Author:

I’m usually a laid back person. I love to read. I’m a history nerd. If I could go back in time and meet just one person it would probably be Pope John Paul II. I’m married to my best friend. Fall is my favorite season. The Giant Panda is my favorite animal. I love it when you go somewhere, see something, or even eat something and it bring back memories from your past. I love the smell of rain. Oh, and by the way, I’m Leila (lie-luh).

Leave a Reply

