Posted in My Wedding

Our Wedding Reception

Introducing Mr. and Mrs. Anderson: Our Wedding Reception

The wedding reception was beautiful! Aunt Barb and MaconNite Life (Brandon and Lindsay) did a fantastic job putting everything together. Didn’t I mention before that I really love Christmas tree lights, lol? I really do enjoy the warm ambiance they create. I think the theme of our wedding could best be described as Shabby Chique meets English Tea Party.

After the wedding party entered, Kurtis and I had our first (and very awkward) dance as husband and wife. The song I chose was Love is not a Fight (acoustic) by Warren Barfield. It suited us perfectly.

133

After our first dance and Kurtis’ dance with his mom, Father Kevin blessed the food and it was finally time to eat! I was so hungry! I was too nervous to really eat anything before the wedding so I just went without.

During dinner Kurtis’ Best Man and my Maid of Honor did a toast. Both speeches were really sweet and reflective of our relationship with them.

DSC_0062 DSC_0072

After that it was time to cut the cake! The cake turned out better than what I had expected. We chose a three tiered marble wedding cake with butter cream icing. Our wedding cake topper was actually set to the side, but it was called “Promise” by Willow Tree. I’ve always have been a big fan of Willow Tree, their products always show so much emotion in such a simple way.

DSC_0085

After the cutting of the cake we had the money dance with the bride and groom. Yay, more awkward Leila dancing! I had a wonderful time, but I was just really afraid of stepping on people’s feet.

DSC_0130

Following that it was finally time for me to toss my bouquet (One Way or Another by Blondie) and for my husband to throw the garter (I’ve Gotta Feeling by Black Eyed Peas). This was hilarious because to everyone’s surprise, including her own, my Maid of honor caught the bouquet (her face was priceless btw) and Robert caught the garter.

DSC_0208

We had a marriage appreciation dance where all of the married couples came out on the floor to dance and who ever had been married the longest gave my husband and I marriage advice.

DSC_0181

Following that it was time to open up the dance floor to everyone! I don’t think I’ve ever seen Kurtis or any of his groomsmen dance that much but it was a wonderful thing to see. I’m really glad that everyone seemed to have a really good time.

Author:

I’m usually a laid back person. I love to read. I’m a history nerd. If I could go back in time and meet just one person it would probably be Pope John Paul II. I’m married to my best friend. Fall is my favorite season. The Giant Panda is my favorite animal. I love it when you go somewhere, see something, or even eat something and it bring back memories from your past. I love the smell of rain. Oh, and by the way, I’m Leila (lie-luh).

Leave a Reply

