Posted in Random

Christmas and New Years

 Well, our Christmas vacation can best be described into two parts. We spent the first half of our break back in our hometown and spent the other half back at our home in Atlanta. It was nice getting a chance to finally sit  and just spend time with family and friends. We attended a few Ugly Christmas Sweater Parties and did a couple of  gift exchanges with our close friends. Dude, I got so many Starbucks gift cards…it was AWESOME!

Elisa party
Elisa’s Ugly Christmas Sweater Party was so much fun! I got a second chance to wear my tacky Christmas skirt!

On Christmas Eve we had a big meal and watched classic Christmas cartoons with the family. Around 11:20ish  me, Kurtis, and his little sister left and went to Midnight Mass. I love Midnight Mass. It’s one of my favorite masses of the year. It’s just filled with so much anticipation! Sometimes I feel like I get way too excited when it rolls around, but really, how can you not be enthusiastic when it comes to celebrateing The Nativity of our Lord Jesus Christ? This reminds me of one of my favorite Pope Emeritus Benedict XVI quotes: “At Christmas, therefore, we do not limit ourselves to commemorating the birth of a great figure: we do not simply and abstractly celebrate the birth of the man or in general the mystery of life; even less do we celebrate only the beginning of the new season. At Christmas we commemorate something very tangible and important for mankind, something essential for the Christian faith, a truth that St. John sums up in these few words: “The Word became flesh…” Any who, after Mass we went back home and it was time to open presents! We spent most of Christmas day just relaxing around the house.

Advent Wreath
I finally got a picture of our advent wreath! I love playing with my husbands camera!

The following day we headed back up to Atlanta for our aunt’s Day After Christmas Party. It was a lot fun and it was awesome getting to see everyone, but I was just really tired. The thing I hate most about being an introvert is that especially after big holidays, I’m  just completely exhausted. I get really anxious around the holidays because of it.  Well, after the  party, Kurtis and I finally headed back up to our home.

group
New Year’s Eve photo! We had a fun group of people with us 😉

 When my husband and I got home, we finally got a chance to talk more about family traditions we want to start for advent and for Christmas when we have kids. It was really nice. Too be honest, it’s been awhile since we’ve been able to be in the same place and have that kind of talk. For New Years we hosted our first New Years Eve party at our place! A couple of our friends drove up  from our hometown and visited with us for a couple of days. It was nice having our friends join us in welcoming the new year. We played games, chit-chatted, and ate a lot of food!

smile
He’s the harmony to my melody 🙂

I still can’t believe that Kurtis and I have celebrated our first Christmas and New Years as a married couple! It’s just weird actually realizing how settled down we are as a couple now. It was the first of the many holidays we look forward to greeting together in years to come. It’s so exciting!

Author:

I’m usually a laid back person. I love to read. I’m a history nerd. If I could go back in time and meet just one person it would probably be Pope John Paul II. I’m married to my best friend. Fall is my favorite season. The Giant Panda is my favorite animal. I love it when you go somewhere, see something, or even eat something and it bring back memories from your past. I love the smell of rain. Oh, and by the way, I’m Leila (lie-luh).

Leave a Reply

