Posted in Random

Baby, it’s cold outside

January: Auld Lang Syne and my quarter life crises

GSJM4340

For New Years Eve we hosted a group of friends to welcome in the New Year. We had food, music, drinks, and did the countdown for the ball drop. It wasn’t anything too crazy, but it was just really nice having our group of friends together again. A few days later, I turned twenty-five! I can’t believe that I’m a quarter century! I feel so old, but I know I’m really not. It’s an interesting mix of feelings. I have to admit, when I think about my ideal life plan, I’m not quite where I had expected to be, but I definitely  love what I have instead. For  my birthday, Kurtis surprised me with a highEnglish tea party at the St. Regis Hotel with a small group of friends. It was so much fun and the macaroons there were AWESOME!

February: Valentin’s Day and  Mountain Weekend

IMG_5435

For Valentine’s Day, Kurtis planned a trip to Covington, Georgia to stay at the Twelve Oaks Bed and Breakfast! It was so cute and breakfast was awesome! Anyhow, we explored the downtown square and ate at a small little Italian Restaurant. There wasn’t too much around the inn except for the town square, but we did find an awesome ice cream shop.  Oh! We even saw Mystic Gill where they film the Vampire Diaries.

Later that month we went up to Helen, Georgia and spent the weekend at a cabin with a group of friends from Emory! Going back to Helen brought back so many memories! It was fun getting to visit a few of the same shops we had visited when we were on our honeymoon. It’s crazy to think we’ve been married for almost two years now! We visited a bunch of wineries, antique shops, and pottery stores. I love Willows Pottery. They always have such a unique collection. I love all of the colors and everything is made locally.

March: Easter

Easter was pretty low key this year. I’m happy to say that I was able to spend Holy Thursday and Good Friday at Sacred Heart. I always love going back to visit when I’m at home. I just grew so much during my time there and it’ll always be a special place to me. It was awesome being back home. I got to spend time with my family and get my nails done with  friends. After mass on Good Friday, Kurtis and I headed back to Atlanta to prepare for Easter.  On Sunday we went to Easter mass at St. Thomas More. After, we hosted a small get together for our friends at Emory. Overall, it was a pretty laid back Triduum this year.

April: Maximilian Kolbe and Exploring the Belt line 

The highlight of the month was definitely being able to visit the relic of my patron saint with my godmother! A few months ago, Anne, posted an article on my Facebook page talking about St. Max’s relics tour date in the United States. We immediately made plans to go visit him inGeorgia. We got up super early on Saturday to make our mini pilgrimage to see him. It was about a 30-45 min drive to get to St. Philip Benizi Catholic Church.  So, my favorite part of the trip has to be the moment when godmother realized that the relic of St. Max Kolbe was actually his beard hair. She was like, “we drove all the way out here for BEARD HAIR?!” it was pretty priceless, lol! We spent a about 30-45 minutes venerating the saint and then we popped into the chapel for adoration. After our adventure to the church we explored downtown Jonesboro and then stopped for food at Folks. It was an awesome day! I’m so happy I picked him to be my patron saint. My focus in history was Holocaust studies and he just seemed perfect for me.

Later that month, I explored the belt line with my best friend and her mom. We went to this cute little cafe in Edgewood for food and then continued to explore the belt line with thier dog, Scooter! Towards the end of our walk we stopped by Krogg Street market for some ice cream at Jeni’s (I highly recommend their reisiling poached pear sorbet btw).  It was such a beautiful day out.

May: Florida and getting ready for summer

Kurits and I drove down to Florida to drop off his car at his grandfather’s house. This summer we’re having interior  repair and body work done to his car. The drive didn’t take as long as we had expected. It was about 4 1/2 hours. It was nice going down and spending time with his grandparents. We got to see his grandfather collection of restored classic cars and fly in the airplane. Well, Kurtis flew in the plane. I’m not too fond of flying, but it looked like a lot of fun though!

We were only able to stay for one night because I had work the following day, but it was nice being able to sit and spend time in the “country”.  The drive home felt way longer than it did going down. Luckily, Kurtis took over driving after we stopped to get Fazoli’s and finally after four hours of driving we finally arrived back home.

 

 

Author:

I’m usually a laid back person. I love to read. I’m a history nerd. If I could go back in time and meet just one person it would probably be Pope John Paul II. I’m married to my best friend. Fall is my favorite season. The Giant Panda is my favorite animal. I love it when you go somewhere, see something, or even eat something and it bring back memories from your past. I love the smell of rain. Oh, and by the way, I’m Leila (lie-luh).

Leave a Reply

