Posted in Random

Anticipation

Between my countdown to the end of the school year and when I left for Israel were a pretty crazy two weeks.  I had been experiencing  lot of anxiety about this trip. It was mostly dealing with the anticipation of experiencing the unknown. I wanted to make sure I spent time with family and friends before I left for two months. On Saturday, I went to Lane Packing with Mike and grabbed lunch. It was such a beautiful day, and it was so nice being able to hang out with an old friend. After  that outing, I went to Sacred Heart for Mass. My original plan was to drive down to Warner Robins to pick up my mom and celebrate a late mother’s day with her since Kurtis and I  were traveling that weekend, but I just decided to make it a day trip instead. I took my mom back to Atlanta with me to spend the night!

 

On Sunday, mom and I left Atlanta and headed back down to Warner Robins. I was originally going to take her either to the Coke Museum or the aquarium, but we decided to head down early to spend time with my sister and Lillie instead. It was fun. It’s been a while since I’ve seen my sister, and I’m glad to see that she’s doing better. Later that evening, I was able to attend the Senior Send off for Lifeteen. I still can’t believe that it was time for them to graduate already! I still remember meeting them when they were sophomores! It was humbling being able to serve them when I was on core team. I know that they will do abundantly well no matter what they do or where they go.

 I experienced a wide range of emotions the last week of school, but overall it was very nostalgic. By the end of the school year, my students seemed so much “bigger” then they were in the beginning. It’s amazing getting the opportunity to guide and watch them grow.  I’m very proud of myself for not tearing up during their moving up ceremony, but it’s hard sending them on. However, I know that they were ready. Later that night, I took a painting class with Carolyn and Annie! We painted Van Gogh’s Sunflowers! I still have really mixed feelings about my sunflower. I really like it, but I don’t at the same time.

That weekend, after I finished packing and handling all the minor stuff I need before the trip, I was able to spend time with Deidra and Annie. We went to eat at my favorite French Cafe in Decatur and got Jeni’s Ice cream after! On Sunday, we went hiking at Carter Lake. The weather was okay, but it was so refreshing being able to swim in the lake (despite my hatred for  lake water).  On Monday, I just spent Memorial Day relaxing around the house.

Despite it all, I needed those crazy times and chill times to make it through those anxiety filed two weeks.

 

 

Author:

I’m usually a laid back person. I love to read. I’m a history nerd. If I could go back in time and meet just one person it would probably be Pope John Paul II. I’m married to my best friend. Fall is my favorite season. The Giant Panda is my favorite animal. I love it when you go somewhere, see something, or even eat something and it bring back memories from your past. I love the smell of rain. Oh, and by the way, I’m Leila (lie-luh).

Leave a Reply

