Posted in Weekly Travel Blurbs

Israel Week Two!

Day Eight: Thursday

I can’t believe its already been a week since I arrived! It feels so much longer than that! Today we explored a few shopping centers  and I found a few really cute stores to get clothes. They were pretty moderately priced. I got a really cute Maxi dress and skirt for NIS 120 ( about $30 )! When we were shopping Kurtis decided to check out a hat shop and while the habadasher was fitting him for his size he said,”your head is too big! I have no hat for you!” It was great, lol!

Later that night we celebrated Kurtis’ birthday! So, we were originally planning to go to Tel Aviv this weekend to celebrate, but we quickly canceled those plans. Instead we went to The Inball Grill at the Inball Hotel. We loved the atmosphere there. We both have been a tad homesick lately and the atmosphere at the hotel was like a little oasis of home.

Day Nine: Friday

Friday was insane! I never realized how much of a blessing it is to have stores like Kroger and Publix. Here things are in  open markets and if you need something  like cotton swabs or Ibuprofen, for example,  you have to go find a pharmacy. It’s not all in one place.  I was anxious to go to the Shuk because of the recent happenings in Tel Aviv, but in response to that the IDF were there patrolling the area. It made me feel a little more at ease. The market was extra crowded not only in preparation for Shabbat, but also a holiday called Shavuot. Shavuot commemorates the day when God gave the Jewish people the Torah at Mount Sinai. It’s celebrated by families going to synagogue to hear the Torah, people staying up all night reading Jewish texts, and eating dairy.

So.Much.Cheesecake.  It’s interesting because it’s not like a Newyork Style cheesecake (dense and super sweet). Here, it’s made of mascarpone cheese with a very thin layer of cake at the bottom. Overall, it’s surprisingly  light. We picked one up for my husbands birthday. That honestly has to have been my favorite interactions in the Shuk. The baker was so nice and he took his time to help us inspite of being really busy. Usually, you have to push your way into the front to get assisted and even then the clerks are still very rude and will often ignore you still. He was unexpectedly kind. 🙂

Day Ten: Saturday

Saturday’s here are usually pretty quiet. It’s mostly large families heading down to the Old City for Shabbat.  After mass Kurtis and I went on a walk to explore some more of the city and we stumbled upon a lot of really cool street art. I have no idea who painted these, but they looked awesome!

So, there is an astonishing  number of stray cats in the city. When we were exploring we found two feral kittens playing in the street! They reminded me of our kittens back home. Tom and Pen are both one year old now! I miss my wee furry ones 😦



Oh! Also, we finally found non-kosher restaurants! You have no idea how awesome that was. They actually serve pork and some of those places served meat and dairy together! The majority of the places here keep kosher. So, for us it means no pork, cheese on sandwiches,  cheeseburgers, bacon, pepperoni pizza, tacos, etc. I never realized how many things come in the meat and dairy combination until I couldn’t them.

Day Eleven: Sunday

Happy birthday! It’s your birthday! Happy birthday to you! Kurtis is finally catching up to me in age, lol! It feels weird celebrating special events here, especially since we’re both so used to having a large amount of family and friends to celebrate with us. We spent the day at home on Sunday and it was glorious.


Day Twelve: Monday 

 Kurtis and I went to evening mass and we met an awesome group of people, they were teachers that work at local school here, but unfortunately, they’re leaving for the summer. Mass and Dinner at the center

Day Thirteen & Fourteen: Tuesday & Wednesday

Author:

I’m usually a laid back person. I love to read. I’m a history nerd. If I could go back in time and meet just one person it would probably be Pope John Paul II. I’m married to my best friend. Fall is my favorite season. The Giant Panda is my favorite animal. I love it when you go somewhere, see something, or even eat something and it bring back memories from your past. I love the smell of rain. Oh, and by the way, I’m Leila (lie-luh).

Leave a Reply

