Posted in Weekly Travel Blurbs

Israel Week Three!

Day Fifteen: Thursday

I went shopping today! I got a cute outfit for our up coming date to celebrate our anniversary! For dinner we went to Iwo’s to get some food (more non-kosher yay!). Kurtis got this ridiculous cheeseburger with goose breast and truffle butter  and I got sesame chicken. For some strange reason, sesame chicken here is not the same thing back home. Okay, when I think of sesame chicken, I think of breaded chicken drenched in sauce with sesame seeds sprinkled on top. Here, it’s literally chicken strips dipped in sesame seeds and fried,but you can get any kind of sauce to have on the side.  When the guy at the counter asked me my name for my order he started singing to me.  It doesn’t matter where I am in the world, there will always be someone who sings Leila by Eric Clapton to me. I think it’s hilarious.

Day Sixteen: Friday

So, we’ve found a deli! Apparently, Iwo’s is not only a restaurant, but also a deli!  It was  the first non-kosher deli in Jerusalem and it’s awesome. It’s definitely a place you have to visit with a solid grocery list in mind-it’s a very pricey. I think it was $15 for a pound of roast beef?  Eh, it was something like that, but were glad to know its there and will save that return for a different day. Any who,  we took one of our weekly detours to the Shuk to pick up some groceries and challah bread. Mid-week Kurtis decided we should make  challah bread french toast! We found this really awesome recipe from pioneer woman and I kid you not, it is the best french toast recipe we’ve ever used! Later that night we facetimed a buch of our friends back home and it just made my day. I really miss my friends.

Day Seventeen: Saturday

On Saturday, it felt like I was fighting off a stomach bug. It started late Friday night, but by Saturday it was awful. I think the worst part is just feeling crappy and not being at home. Oh and me being me the only things I could think of were  worse case scenarios, for example, what if I get really sick while I’m here? Where’s the closest hospital? How does my insurance work while I’m out of the country?

By the evening it wasn’t hurting as bad. So, we went to mass at the Notre Dame Center. I think the air conditioning is barely  working in the sanctuary. It was so hot!  During the homily father talked about how all of the readings focused on the sacred heart ( Zec 12:10-11 & 13:1;  Gal 3:26-29; Luke 9:18-24 ).

DSC04447

Day Eighteen: Sunday

 When we got up in the morning we made our French toast. Any who,  we called Kurtis’ dad to wish him a happy father’s day and it was nice getting to chit chat for a bit. Father’s Day is always a bittersweet day for me. As time passes it gets easier I guess, but the sadness still hits a little bit on that day.

Day Nineteen: Monday

Yay, feeling better and bring able to eat actual food again.

Day Twenty: Tuesday

I can’t believe we’ve been married for two years now! Looking back on our wedding day and reflecting on the previous eight years of our relationship together it always amazes me how you never left and always fought for a place in my life. I’ve seen you grow tired, but you never gave up. You’ve walked with me through the loss of a parent, going to different universities, and me working and living in a completely different town. God’s Providence brought us together together and I’m thankful for the grace we’ve been given. Thank you for being my greatest confidant, the keeper of my heart, and my best friend.  Cheers to many more happy years to come!

191

When Kurtis got home form work he surprised me with a red rose.  It was super sweet. For dinner, we kept it simple this year and went to the Cheese & Wine Restaurant at the Notre Dame center and watched the sunset.

The sunset over the old city was absolutely beautiful. It was a very peaceful evening and it was nice just getting a chance to just sit and relax with each other.

Day Twenty-One: Wednesday

This has been a another pretty low key week. We’ll be doing a lot more traveling the next two weeks, so I promise these will get more interesting again, lol.

Author:

I’m usually a laid back person. I love to read. I’m a history nerd. If I could go back in time and meet just one person it would probably be Pope John Paul II. I’m married to my best friend. Fall is my favorite season. The Giant Panda is my favorite animal. I love it when you go somewhere, see something, or even eat something and it bring back memories from your past. I love the smell of rain. Oh, and by the way, I’m Leila (lie-luh).

Leave a Reply

