Posted in Inspiration, lent

The silence

DSC06533

I often find the silence and stillness in the adoration chapel completely deafening. My mind drifts back to the homily I heard at the monastery on Sunday. The visiting priest said, “society abhors silence.” It’s so terribly true. I think the reason why we as a society hate silence so much is because it forces us to really think about life and question it. It forces us to ask the soul wrenching questions “why?”For me mind mind questions “why do these symbols of status matter so much?” I’ve learned that  once I have obtained the object of my desire,  the craving for more only follows. It’s shallow and empty. The silence forces us to see the empty hole I’ve created in my life. It’s a shame…especially since the person that can heal us is always sitting there in the silence waiting. This is probably another reason I love the monastery so much is because it’s my reminder of what’s truly important and it grounds me.

Author:

I’m usually a laid back person. I love to read. I’m a history nerd. If I could go back in time and meet just one person it would probably be Pope John Paul II. I’m married to my best friend. Fall is my favorite season. The Giant Panda is my favorite animal. I love it when you go somewhere, see something, or even eat something and it bring back memories from your past. I love the smell of rain. Oh, and by the way, I’m Leila (lie-luh).

Leave a comment